The RECNATION project

Introduction

Hi all!

I’m Frank i am a developer/designer/entrepreneur from the Netherlands. After selling my previous IoT company (https://recognize.nl), I started exploring new opportunities. As “passive income” I already own a number of separate WordPress (affiliate/comparison) websites with a total of about 1.5 million Dutch visitors per month, hosted on 1 simple VPS. So it’s far from scalable.

Until one day, somewhere in 2019 i came across the Frontity project. And suddenly it became clear: I am going to rebuild my entire structure, make the platform available for everyone and grow with the Frontity project.

The RECNATION project’s goal:

Creating a global horizontal/vertical scalable SAAS platform that allows users to create an online comparison website within a few clicks, filled with affiliates, automatically selected from the RECNATION database based on the user’s chosen niche. And, automatically advertise that website on other RECNATION subsites and many external (content) channels within the user’s advertising budget. So the only thing the user has to do is creating great content.

Things i have accomplished so far

1. Setting up Kubernetes clusters (at Digital Ocean) to auto-scale the application over different nodes/pods (in the future: datacenters/clouds), accessible via http2 passthrough (Ingress) load balancers.
  2. Configuring & deploying K8 Prometheus to monitor everything.
  3. Configuring & deploying K8 Cert-manager and Let’s Encrypt for automatically (renewing and) provisioning certificates to pods.
  4. Configuring & deploying K8 WordPress Multisite with WooCommerce partially mounted on Persistent Volumes (wp-config.php and htacces config) so it can update and scale automatically without losing changes.