Wp-source basic access authentication

Hello, I am new to Frontity (and relatively new to React) so I apologize if the answer is there and I have just not seen it.

I would like to use the REST API of a site that is protected with basic authentication. The reason is that the site is in development and has not been published. However I would like to develop the theme locally using Frontity.

The quick solution I found was to migrate the WordPress site to my computer and serve it with MAMP but this is not ideal for me, since in the future I will be working with bigger projects.

Is there a way we can specify the user and pass for basic authentication to the wp-source?

Hi @max

Welcome to the community. Great to hear that you’re trying out Frontity on a project that you’re working on.

Will the REST API protection be permanent, or is it only in place because the site is under development? If it’s only temporarily protected then do you only need to access it while your Frontity theme is in development, i.e. from your local dev machine?

If the answer to this last question is yes, i.e. you only need to access the protected API from your dev machine, then it will be fine to put the credentials in your code while you develop the theme. Just remember to remove them when you’re ready to go live! :smile:

If the protection on the API is permanent and the live Frontity site will need to authenticate then you need to look into a proxy to prevent the credentials being exposed in the client side JavaScript.

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your response. The answer to your questions is yes. The site is temporarily protected and I just need to access it from my local dev machine for development. My question then is, how do I set the basic authentication headers to the wp-source?

When the site gets published, the basic auth will be removed and I will deploy the Frontity application without credentials.

Hi @max