Newbi build gallery website

Hi, I’m new to Frontity and React, have experience building WordPress sites.
I’d like to use Frontity with WordPress to build a gallery site for an artist - painter - friend of mine. Appreciate any pointers / tutorials on the best way to structure the web site, with responsive thumbnails and page per image using Frontity as the frontend.
Thanks for any help

Can’t think of a better place to start than the https://tutorial.frontity.org/ :slight_smile:

Hi @davidm.me :slight_smile:

I’m not sure if it’s exactly what you’re looking for, but in case you find it useful for inspiration, I recently found this art portfolio site - johncdraws.com - built with Frontity. The source code can be found in this GitHub repo.

1 Like

Hello! It’s great to hear that you’re interested in using Frontity to build a gallery site for your artist friend. Frontity is a powerful tool for creating fast and scalable React-based WordPress themes. Since you have experience building WordPress sites, getting started with Frontity shouldn’t be too difficult.

Here’s a general outline on how you can structure the website and implement the gallery with responsive thumbnails and individual pages per image using Frontity:

1. Set up Frontity Project:
  • First, make sure you have Node.js installed on your system.
  • Install Frontity using npm or yarn (if you haven’t already):

bashCopy code

npx create-frontity-app my-gallery-site
cd my-gallery-site
  • Follow the prompts to create a Frontity project.
  1. Configure Frontity Settings:
  • Open the frontity.settings.js file in the root of your project.
  • Configure your WordPress site’s REST API endpoint by setting the api value.
  • Ensure you have the necessary packages installed for fetching data from your WordPress site (e.g., @frontity/wp-source).
  1. Create a WordPress Custom Post Type for the Gallery: