Integrate Material-UI server side rendered

Hello there,

i am quite new to react and frontity in itself aswell. At the moment i am trying to get material-ui for my frontity project to work. Today i have seen that material-ui needs to be prepared for a SSR-Framework.

I looked at this guide provided by material-ui Server Rendering - Material-UI and found that there was an example of an integration in frontity on github like this: chore(core): example of how to add material ui support · frontity/frontity@94f271d · GitHub

My Problem is now, the index.ts at the moment looks completly different now than it was 2 years ago. I can’t seem to find a way to implement material-ui because of lack in knowledge.

I would gladly appreciate an example on how to do it. Also will frontity in the future officially make this feature happen by default someday?

Hi @Gno

Welcome to the Frontity community. It might be worth your while taking a look at this demo project which demonstrates the use of an external library - in that case it’s antd, but it should provide you with an example on how to integrate external libraries.

BTW you shouldn’t be making any changes to the core Frontity files. You should just work within your theme.

Main problem is material-ui for react doesn’t use a global css stylesheet. i had some errors using the tab component with material-ui. It said that css classnames differ from server to client side. Thats why i thought you have to get material-ui to render on the server. Still don’t know how to do that. If somone could look at the Server Render Guide on the first post and give me a hint, that would be nice.

Sadly i can’t implement it like antd or bootstrap.

1 Like

I think the problem can be resolved in a clean way once:

has been resolved and we can use middlewares.

I experimented in the package/components/index.js file with extracting the css and adding it as a global style but with no success.