How to use NPM packages such as react-bootstrap?

I am still pretty new with frontity, but I’m slowly getting to grips with it!

I was wondering how and if I can use most npm packages like ui kits or bootstrap? I have installed in with npm and tried adding the path to frontity.settings.js but to no success :frowning:

Can I get a point to the right direction or should I stop trying?

Hi @loscar9

Welcome to the Frontity community.

You should be able to use most npm packages available in npmjs.com. What have your installed and what did you add to frontity .settings.js? Could you provide a link to a repo so that we can see your code. Thanks.

As an example of using a npm package with Frontity here’s a repo that uses antd.

The example you provided helped me solve it!

I do have one other problem, for example with reactstrap I get a Babel error from default export syntax and it tells me to edit babel config file. I don’t want to do this so I have added the package fix as a dev dependency (@babel/plugin-syntax-export-default-from )

My question is now how do I add a dev dependency to the frontity settings file? Or alternatively could you show me how to edit the babel config?

Hi @loscar9

I’m not expert in babel, but there’s some info here and here which may help you.

@David can you advise here?

Sorry to keep this thread going but I’m back to having issues with modules!! For example this happens with both stripe and react-helmet. They have been installed in package.Json and also I have updated frontity.settings.Json packages to reflect so.

I have removed the packages abs they work without it. Is this todo with my setup or the package?

TypeError: Cannot convert undefined or null to object
  at Function.keys (<anonymous>)
  at getKeys (webpack-internal:///./node_modules/deepmerge/dist/cjs.js:2:1009)
  at mergeObject (webpack-internal:///./node_modules/deepmerge/dist/cjs.js:6:213)
  at deepmerge (webpack-internal:///./node_modules/deepmerge/dist/cjs.js:8:379)