Help editing Frontity Chakra Theme

Hi there,

I’m new to Frontity and trying to learn what is happening, but am having a hard time finding my way. I know once I have a better understanding I can start rolling the ball.

The theme I’m trying to edit is Frontity Chakra Theme.

I want to control which three posts show on the homepage, and possibly get rid of the latest posts section below the fold and replace it with something else.

You can see a demo of the theme here:

And the code can be found here:

How can I manually set which three posts show above the fold? Thanks for any/all direction!

wr,

Hi @hudson.atwell

Welcome to the Frontity community.

You’re jumping in at the deep end :smile:. Chakra theme is quite a complex theme, so if you’re having a hard time finding your way around it might be an idea to start with mars-theme, say, and get to understand some of the concepts surrounding Frontity by experimenting with that, before moving on to Chakra theme.

One possible approach you could take would be to create a component for the homepage and display it conditionally if isHome is true.

If the three posts that you want to display are not in the ten most recent posts (which are fetched by default) then you will probably need to create a beforeSSR function to fetch them.

As I said earlier, if you’re new to Frontity it might be worth doing this as a P.O.C. in mars-theme, and then reimplement it in Chakra based on your learnings. Up to you. :man_shrugging:

Hope this helps.

3 Likes

@mburridge

Solid leads, thank you very much : )

I’ll keep Mars Theme close to study and see if I can break through on this custom REST call. I’ll also be sure to come back once I have a better understanding of beforeSSR and update you on my progress.

Thanks again for the attention,
:raised_hands:

1 Like

Hope no one minds, I’d like to keep recording my thoughts somewhere…