Has anyone deployed a Frontity App on WPEngine

Hello! I’m super interested in working with Frontity as a project for a client but they host everything on WP Engine and I’m relatively new to the web hosting world so I’d like to know if people have experience working within Frontity on WPEngine?

Hi @min! Welcome to the community :relaxed:

I’ve asked the WP Engine team about this and they told me they don’t have support for Node.js yet, so it wouldn’t be possible to Deploy Frontity there.

Nevertheless, you can still use WP Engine for the backend and deploy Frontity in a node server. We strongly recommend Zeit Now as it’s really easy to set up, it’s serverless and it includes CDN. Here you have the guide for the deploy, you’ll see it’s pretty simple.

Please, let us know if you need any help and we’d love to learn more about the project you have in mind :slightly_smiling_face:

Great to know! Is there additional extra cost associated with hosting on Zeit Now? We’d like to avoid additional costs if that’s the case, as we already own the domains and everything.

Also, supposedly Frontity doesn’t need a Node.js server running, right? Is there anything I can do to host it on WPEngine?

Frontity is prepared to be hosted either in a regular Node.js server or in serverless services, but it needs Node in production to run, like explained here.

This means you don’t have to pay for a Node server, you can use a serverless service, which is usually much cheaper. Zeit Now has a free plan that, depending on the case and with a proper cache technique (they support stale-while-revalidate which is pretty nice), would be enough.

If you want to:

• Use React.
  • Have proper server side rendering (really important for performance and SEO).
  • Don’t have to rebuild and redeploy the whole app each time you publish or modify a post (like in Gatsby or other Static Site Generators).

then there is no way to avoid NodeJS in production because React cannot do server side rendering in PHP.