Frontity Coupled Architecture + PHP/V8 Server Rendering

This is rambling experimental post, and I want to warn you I have very little to no experience in Frontity. These ideas may have been explored already/before – so apologies for the duplication if so.

As it happens, I was recently working on a prototype in essentially re-implementing the WordPress theming system in React – a highly coupled / embedded approach to writing WordPress React sites. I’ve pushed some non-working (well, works for me only) code to https://github.com/joehoyle/r/ and /joehoyle/r-example-theme if anyone is over-curious. In doing so, Ryan McCue recommended I might want to check out Frontity to see if efforts could be combined.

My main goals were essentially to have a WordPress theming framework that allows you to create Header.tsx just as you would header.php. R supports SSR only, Client only or hydrated. It basically maps WordPress rewrites to react-router automatically and implements the WP template hierarchy. A (maybe) novell thing with the approach is to run the v8 engine embedded in PHP via the v8js PHP extension which means there’s no need for a Node server for SSR, and you can cross-call between JS and PHP. The main advantage to that is being able to locally route REST API requests to not actually use the network in SSR mode (via rest_do_request()).

So, long story to say I essentially tried to go down the same route with Frontity: Implement a Frontity server in PHP/v8 that can provide SSR with your existing WP server alone, providing tighter coupling / integration (shock!) between the WordPress site and Frontity. Probably a major aside: I personally don’t find decoupled highly attractive, running two services (WP + node), caches, deploy workflows etc isn’t that appealing to me. I still want to build WordPress sites, but in React and have JS as first-class, not “progressively enhance”.