Frontity blog/portfolio theme: desert-jackalope

Howdy ya’ll,

I thought I’d drop a link to my custom Frontity theme here:

You can see it live here:
https://aslanfrench.work

It’s still very much a work in progress but it’s stable right now.

It’s essentially built off the mars-theme, with my own custom styling added and some of the structure rearranged.

I’m still new to React and I’m primarily a designer (though I call myself a “design technologist” to hint at that), but I think there’s some nice stuff about it.

Features

• Modes: Can be set to either “Blog” (styling not fully complete yet), or defaults to Portfolio (case study focused).
  • Contains theming using css variables.
  • Page transitions (implemented with the help of Luis :slight_smile: )

Plans:

• improve the overall syntax and structure of things.

• add lightboxes to post images.

• add a footnotes feature probably using this plugin for the backend

• add custom features using custom Gutenberg components

• The main component I want to build is a multimedia gallery with lightbox built in. I built a php version for my old blog website using ACF, and I’d like to recreate that as a native Gutenberg component for the future. Essentially it’s a masonry style gallery that can show images, video, links, or sketchfab embeds.

• Videos would mute autoplay with no visible controls. That way you could post a wall of motion graphics work on a portfolio, without having to rely on gifs which are much less compressed than mp4s.

• Clicking on the gallery image or video would make it bigger in the lightbox.

• Links would just look like image previews that when clicked would take the user to a new page (for showing off websites designs).

• Sketchfab embeds would look like an image preview that when click would bring up an iframe with the sketchfab embed.

• convert blog/portfolio mode stuff to being based on taxonomy allowing for a website to have BOTH a blog and case studies section.