Fetching other posttypes on the frontpage

Hi!

For 2 weeks I have been working with frontity and learning how to works. So far, so good. I am a very experienced Wordpress developer, but not very experienced working with Frontity or React, in fact, this is the first time I’m doing a react project.

I’m currently developing a theme based on the awsf1, which was a really good base to learn from (IMO).

Right now I’m currently stuck with the frontpage because I want to query 1 custom post type and 1 normal post type and list everything. But the data wont fetch, which messes up the map-function :slight_smile:

Here’s my snippet for fetching the 2 data sources:

const HomePage = ({ state, actions, libraries }) => {
  // Get information about the current URL.
  const data = state.source.get(state.router.link);
  // Get the data of the post.
  const homepage = state.source[data.type][data.id];

// Get the html2react component.
  const Html2React = libraries.html2react.Component;
  //const BannerSlider = homepage.acf.banner_slider; 
  useEffect(() => {
    actions.source.fetch("/");
    List.preload();
  }, []);

**const blogposts = state.source.get('/posts');**
  **const reviews = state.source.get('/prp_reviews');**

I’ve bolded the 2 data sources. I would really appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction.

Best regards,
Marten

Hi @marten

Welcome to the community. We’re delighted that you’re trying out Frontity.

You shouldn’t need to use useEffect to get the homepage content, i.e. "/" as that content should already be in the state because of your second line, namely const data = state.source.get(state.router.link).

But you would probably need to use useEffect to fetch the CPT, and the posts as it seems you’re creating a custom homepage and not using a standard post listing.

You’re using state.source.get('/prp_reviews') and state.source.get('/posts') but they won’t be in the state unless they’ve already been fetched.