Error: EPERM: operation not permitted

Hello there.

I came here from wordpress. Been doing websites for years ONLY with wordpress. Im not really a programmer, and im not familiar with this npm stuff.

But this frontity looks interesting, decided to try it out.

I have already installed Node.js as requested. And I tried to create a project, it says something like this

Error: EPERM: operation not permitted

can you advice me on this matter.

Hi @stivweng,

Welcome to the Community Forum!

Can you please copy and paste the command you’re launching in the terminal along with the full error?
Can you also copy and paste the result of doing npx frontity info?

Hello Juanma,

Thanks for replying to a newbie like me (LOL)

so here is the full error when i typed in the command npx frontity create my-app
Attached is screenshot

and also says the same when i typed in the command npx frontity info,

@stivweng

It looks like an issue with your installation of NPM in your Windows OS

There is some more info here: https://github.com/npm/npm/issues/10826

Our best guess is that npm doesn’t have the write permission in some directory where it is trying to download the frontity package (which causes the EPERM error).

And subsequently npx cannot find the frontity package because it has not been downloaded (which causes the command not found: frontity )

@stivweng

here you have another thread in our Community Forum where you can find a solution for this issue

hmm seems like none of it working for me :confused:

@stivweng Could you specify what exactly have you tried?

well. first i did what i had to as requested in the requirements,

and then I proceed to start my first project, and it says error as mentioned above. I tried that npm cache too. but it didnt work.

Just wondering, does it have to do with windows firewall?

It’s possible but it’s really hard to say if it has anything to do with windows firewall without more context :slight_smile: