Displaying post category in mars theme

https://github.com/matthewbert86/therealmattbert

Is there a simple way I am missing to display a post category next to the author name and date? I am using the mars theme, but I have been trying to set up the list-item component to feature the category name, but I’m not having any luck.

I’m guessing I just overlooked something in the docs or in the community, but im not finding a resource for the mars theme.

Hey Matt! I’m just getting started with Frontity, but having just finished @mburridge Frontity workshop, Build a React-based Theme for WordPress with Frontity (which was a HUGE help) adding categories was the first thing I wanted to do.

I haven’t tried this with Mars, here is what I came up with using a more basic theme developed during the workshop. The core components should be similar. I posted a Gist at https://gist.github.com/badcrocodile/476468c1876157c3b8aad39e7fb0a513 but will also place here for posterity. The interesting bits are down in the Sidebar.

import React from "react";
import { connect, styled } from "frontity";
import Link from "./link";

const Post = ({ state }) => {

const data = state.source.get(state.router.link); // state.source.get('url-string')
    const post = state.source[data.type][data.id]; // state.source[url-string -> type][url-string -> id] date.type is Post; data.id is Post ID
    const author = state.source.author[post.author]; // state.source.author[post -> author]

return(
        <div>
            <h2>{post.title.rendered}!!!</h2>
            <ConsoleLog>{ data }</ConsoleLog>
            <ConsoleLog>{ post }</ConsoleLog>
            <MainContent>
                <PostInfo>
                    <p><strong>Posted on : </strong>{post.date}</p>
                    <p><strong>Author: {author.name}</strong></p>
                </PostInfo>
                <div dangerouslySetInnerHTML={{__html: post.content.rendered}} />
            </MainContent>

<Sidebar>