Creating Frontend w/ Frontity and testing on localhost with MAMP

Hello Frontity Community!!!
I am very new with using frontity and just installed the npx package with mars theme, currently reading the docs and getting familiar with the frontity environment.

is it possible to connect frontity into a localhost WordPress with using MAMP to access localhost WP Dashboard?

I am used to using MAMP with apache, myphp developing themes with WordPress.
I really like the idea of not using .php with Frontity, but im curious if I could link the WP localhost dashboard using MAMP with frontity to design and develop a theme. can anyone explain and shed a light with this?

I really appreciate you!

Hi, you can set your local installation of WP as the data source.

Update frontity.settings.js:

img_local-frontity

This will pull the data from your local site.

Note: you will need to handle this via environmental variables if you decide to deploy the Frontity theme to production, otherwise it will still link to your local when deployed.

1 Like

Woah! i just made it work! I set the api to http://localhost:8888/wp/wp-json since my MAMP is set to localhost:8000. This is HUGE!

As I read through frontity docs, you can add more themes on frontity’s packages folder.
Is it possible to add the frontity theme for example the mars-theme to wp-admin/theme?

also, based on the mars-theme, the menu items/navigation items are stored in frontity.settings.js. is it possible to include a react-router-dom or even create a full react app and add it as a frontity theme?

As I read through frontity docs, you can add more themes on frontity’s packages folder.

I don’t think you can make your Frontity theme show up in the WP dashboard. Frontity theme lives on a completely different server and makes the theme decoupled from WP.

is it possible to include a react-router-dom or even create a full react app and add it as a frontity theme?