Frontity CLI - Create command

Collection of ideas on what we need to do with the frontity create command and how we are going to implement it.

Contraints

• Support for Node v8.10.
  • Support for Linux, macOS and Windows.
  • When using npx it shouldn’t download anything but frontity. (e.g. @frontity/core)

Create app

Command

frontity create [options] [name]

User stories

• :white_check_mark: - As a developer, I want to generate a new app inside a new directory named by me.
  • :white_check_mark: - As a developer, I want to generate a new app in my current directory if the directory is empty or is a new GitHub repo.
  • :white_check_mark: - As a developer, I want to generate a new app with TypeScript support.
  • :white_check_mark: - As a developer, I want to use frontity create and get prompts about the initial setup of my app.
  • :white_check_mark: - As a developer, I also want to use frontity create programmatically (e.g. import { create } from "frontity").
  • :white_check_mark: - As a developer, if the command throws, I want it to undo any work done to that point.

Parameters

• name (optional)
    A name for the app.

Options

• -t, --typescript
    The app will be configured to use TypeScript.
  • -c, --use-cwd
    The app will be generated in the current working directory

Result

A directory with the following structure:

my-project/
|__ node_modules/
|__ packages/
|   |__ mars-theme/
|__ package.json
|__ frontity.settings.(js|ts)
|__ tsconfig.json ?

Steps

1. Validate and parse options.
  2. Ensure that the directory exists and is empty.
  3. Generate a package.json file.
  4. Generate a frontity.settings.js file. (frontity.settinigs.ts if --typescript options is passed)
  5. Create a packages/ directory and clone @frontity/mars-theme inside it.
  6. Install dependencies.
  7. On error: Revert progress.

Create package

Command

frontity create-package [options] [name]

User stories